IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Is this an Editor bug?, valid waypoints showing red
korben_dallas
post Jan 22 2006, 11:46 PM
Post #1


Classic Rock? no.. classic BF2
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,497
Joined: 28-June 04
From: USA
Member No.: 262



You can see valid infantry and vehicle orderpositions as the faint green rings on the ground to the left and right of the tree:

user posted image

I want to place some waypoints near this bridge:

user posted image

First I check the infantry navmesh:

user posted image

Next I check the vehicle navmesh:

user posted image

Then I place the waypoints:

user posted image

Showing red? Surely they are good?
So I startup bf2.exe and in the map ai/ai.ai file I put in these options:
aiSettings.setAutoSpawnBots 0
aiDebug.draw 1

Then I drive over to that bridge and behold!

user posted image

Looks like bug to me, unless there is some setting I need to change?


--------------------
Thanx!

~Keith "Korben Dallas"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 13)
kysterama
post Jan 23 2006, 12:28 AM
Post #2


Major Sleepless Nights
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,526
Joined: 9-July 05
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 933



Are you questioning the color diference between the editor and in-game waypoints? I don't think it's a bug so much as the in-game waypoints just being displayed diferently than the editor displays them. They are still a triangle (infantry) and a pentagon (vehicle) so unless the bots don't go that way after testing, I'd just say the game and editor display the same nav points in diferent colors.

This post has been edited by kysterama: Jan 23 2006, 12:29 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NecronoM
post Jan 23 2006, 08:07 AM
Post #3


Project 2501
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 492
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 105



something else thats annoying with waypoint placement is that they always get placed on the ground. This also happens with orderPositions but unlike them you cant edit the positions of a waypoint in the editor. If you want to place a waypoint in a building (eg kubra or leviathan) you'll have to do it the old fasion way of running around the map and recording your position


--------------------
Eve of Destruction AI Coder
Allied Intent Navmesher and smart guy
-----
<Patrician|Away> what does your robot do, sam
<bovril> it collects data about the surrounding environment, then discards it and drives into walls
http://www.bash.org/?240849
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kysterama
post Jan 23 2006, 08:26 AM
Post #4


Major Sleepless Nights
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,526
Joined: 9-July 05
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 933



I know! that is annoying! The aircraft carrier drove me bonkers in Dalian because everytime you place ANY object, it goes directly to the sea floor. A quicker method is to drag something like a spawn point to exactly where you want to place the waypoint. Note down the xyz coords and quickly type em into strategicareas.ai and put the spawn point back to where it was afterwards.

Those little spawnpoints are great little compasses!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
korben_dallas
post Jan 23 2006, 10:22 AM
Post #5


Classic Rock? no.. classic BF2
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,497
Joined: 28-June 04
From: USA
Member No.: 262



QUOTE (kysterama @ Jan 23 2006, 01:28 AM)
Are you questioning the color diference between the editor and in-game waypoints? I don't think it's a bug so much as the in-game waypoints just being displayed diferently than the editor displays them. They are still a triangle (infantry) and a pentagon (vehicle) so unless the bots don't go that way after testing, I'd just say the game and editor display the same nav points in diferent colors.

Oh contrare my brother in modding! tongue.gif

Put an infantry or vehicle orderposition on a non-navmeshed spot.. it will turn red. Put a spawnpoint on a non-navmeshed spot.. it will turn red.

If they made waypoints red on purpose, it truly was inconsistent with the other green=valid / red=invalid objects.

edit: I knew I wasn't crazy.

valid waypoints

QUOTE ("Outsider")
Waypoints that are drawn as red are invalid (not on a valid pathfinding position) will be ignored. Waypoints' only purpose is to force the bots to create less linear and predictable paths between strategic areas. A bot that is about to move from one strategic area to another will, if there are valid waypoints, path from its current strategic area to a random waypoint and then from that waypoint to the target strategic area.


I can confirm the waypoints I placed were valid.. saw the bots use them and others in-game. That whacky Editor..

This post has been edited by korben_dallas: Jan 23 2006, 10:28 AM


--------------------
Thanx!

~Keith "Korben Dallas"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NecronoM
post Jan 23 2006, 10:32 AM
Post #6


Project 2501
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 492
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 105



ah that is a handy workaround. For placing objects you can enable snap to objects but unfortunately this doesnt apply to waypoints or orderPositions


--------------------
Eve of Destruction AI Coder
Allied Intent Navmesher and smart guy
-----
<Patrician|Away> what does your robot do, sam
<bovril> it collects data about the surrounding environment, then discards it and drives into walls
http://www.bash.org/?240849
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
korben_dallas
post Jan 23 2006, 11:12 AM
Post #7


Classic Rock? no.. classic BF2
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,497
Joined: 28-June 04
From: USA
Member No.: 262



Nec, have you tried making a CP/SA on water?

I'm curious if orderpositions and waypoints can be placed on the deepwater navmesh? Can't see any reason why it shouldn't work, being as the vehicle navmesh is one piece (with 3 materials).


--------------------
Thanx!

~Keith "Korben Dallas"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Recruit_clivewil_*
post Jan 23 2006, 08:58 PM
Post #8





Guests






QUOTE
For placing objects you can enable snap to objects but unfortunately this doesnt apply to waypoints or orderPositions

for what it's worth, i got around that on Kubra by Ctrl+C-ing the height of the CP in the level editor, then pasting it into the OrderPosition's height co-ord in the singleplayer editor. it enabled me to get the OrderPositions on the same plane for the Lower_Dam CP

would be nice not to have to resort to such tomfoolery, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NecronoM
post Jan 24 2006, 08:12 AM
Post #9


Project 2501
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 492
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 105



QUOTE (korben_dallas @ Jan 24 2006, 01:12 AM)
Nec, have you tried making a CP/SA on water?

I'm curious if orderpositions and waypoints can be placed on the deepwater navmesh? Can't see any reason why it shouldn't work, being as the vehicle navmesh is one piece (with 3 materials).

well in the editor the orderPositions show up as red if their not on land, dont know about ingame

edit: if you set the height of the orderPosition to the water level they will become valid

This post has been edited by NecronoM: Jan 26 2006, 04:18 AM


--------------------
Eve of Destruction AI Coder
Allied Intent Navmesher and smart guy
-----
<Patrician|Away> what does your robot do, sam
<bovril> it collects data about the surrounding environment, then discards it and drives into walls
http://www.bash.org/?240849
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outsider
post Jan 25 2006, 03:54 AM
Post #10


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 205
Joined: 18-June 05
Member No.: 672



Have you checked the height difference between the WP and the navmesh? If it is big enough, the WP is considered to be off the navmesh.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
korben_dallas
post Jan 25 2006, 10:34 PM
Post #11


Classic Rock? no.. classic BF2
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,497
Joined: 28-June 04
From: USA
Member No.: 262



QUOTE (Outsider @ Jan 25 2006, 04:54 AM)
Have you checked the height difference between the WP and the navmesh? If it is big enough, the WP is considered to be off the navmesh.

Well they are showing green in the game with aiDebug.draw 1, and I have noticed them using the waypoints.

I think it was just an oversight by the Editor team.. or they aren't 100% on the purpose of waypoints.

Edit: By no means am I complaining or being negative.. the SinglePlayerEditor is light-years better than what we had before (which was nothing).

This post has been edited by korben_dallas: Jan 25 2006, 10:35 PM


--------------------
Thanx!

~Keith "Korben Dallas"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NecronoM
post Jan 26 2006, 09:12 AM
Post #12


Project 2501
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 492
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 105



ive noticed another bug with the editor. It sets up one way neighbors backwards. The neighbor should be added to the destination (like in clean sweep) but the ed puts it on the source


--------------------
Eve of Destruction AI Coder
Allied Intent Navmesher and smart guy
-----
<Patrician|Away> what does your robot do, sam
<bovril> it collects data about the surrounding environment, then discards it and drives into walls
http://www.bash.org/?240849
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
korben_dallas
post Jan 26 2006, 12:20 PM
Post #13


Classic Rock? no.. classic BF2
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,497
Joined: 28-June 04
From: USA
Member No.: 262



I'm not sure I'd consider that a bug. Most of the context-sensitive actions always take place on the last selected object. So if you select an SA and add a one-way neighbor, it seems logical it would add it to the source. No?


--------------------
Thanx!

~Keith "Korben Dallas"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NecronoM
post Jan 27 2006, 07:08 AM
Post #14


Project 2501
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 492
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 105



The arrow clearly points a->b when you make the neighbor, not b->a. If you werent aware of the bug you would set them up wrong and be none the wiser


--------------------
Eve of Destruction AI Coder
Allied Intent Navmesher and smart guy
-----
<Patrician|Away> what does your robot do, sam
<bovril> it collects data about the surrounding environment, then discards it and drives into walls
http://www.bash.org/?240849
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2017 - 06:54 PM