IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

BF2142 LAN Issues
BumbleBee
post Nov 10 2017, 04:06 PM
Post #1


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 28-December 04
Member No.: 457



Hello everyone,

I'm very thankful for this site and the wonderful people in it. Somewhere on here I managed to figure out what I needed to get the game installed on a Windows 10 machine. Thanks to Dnamro's generic singleplayer profile I've managed to get the game to play in single player mode. WOOT!

I want to be able to play coop on a LAN; however, without even attempting to load I keep getting "Your connection to server has been lost" on joining computer.

Btw, don't know if it matters but I renamed the generic singleplayer profile names. I disconnect from wifi to get logged into the game. Then I turn wifi back on and cancel BF2142's attempt to reconnect to ea.

I used the DVD's to install each with own serial numbers.
Patched to 1.50 then 1.51.
Tried turning off firewalls on both computers.
Tried hosting from each computer.

Same error on both computers.

I should also mention I have no interest in playing online.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by BumbleBee: Nov 10 2017, 04:16 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
MasterChiefRulZ
post Nov 10 2017, 08:03 PM
Post #2


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,444
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



I have zero experience with WINDOWS 10 on this, so this may not help, but thought I'd throw my 2 cents in.

I know you said you turned off your firewalls, but when you launch the game go and ahead and 'alt tab' to get to the desktop and make sure Windows isn't blocking anything else (earlier versions have a popup that declares if it is) that the game is trying to do/use to run.

Are you able to connect to each other with any other games? BF2 maybe? Just trying to see if this problem is only with 2142 and not a universal problem with all games.

I did a google search and came across this!! blink.gif

http://www.lanpartyguide.com/bf2142.html

http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/for...php?t16690.html



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BumbleBee
post Nov 10 2017, 08:05 PM
Post #3


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 28-December 04
Member No.: 457



From what I'm reading patch 1.25 was the last version capable of running on a lan. To my understanding 1.51 is required 2 run on Windows 10. Am I correct or is there a way to run 1.25 on Windows 10? If so I'll just reinstall up to 1.25.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BumbleBee
post Nov 11 2017, 10:56 AM
Post #4


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 28-December 04
Member No.: 457



QUOTE (MasterChiefRulZ @ Nov 10 2017, 10:03 PM) *
I have zero experience with WINDOWS 10 on this, so this may not help, but thought I'd throw my 2 cents in.

I know you said you turned off your firewalls, but when you launch the game go and ahead and 'alt tab' to get to the desktop and make sure Windows isn't blocking anything else (earlier versions have a popup that declares if it is) that the game is trying to do/use to run.

Are you able to connect to each other with any other games? BF2 maybe? Just trying to see if this problem is only with 2142 and not a universal problem with all games.

I did a google search and came across this!! blink.gif

http://www.lanpartyguide.com/bf2142.html

http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/for...php?t16690.html


Thank you Master Chief. This gives me a few more things to try on my next day off. I do wonder if it has something to do with punkbuster. I currently only have two games installed on these computers Battlefield 1942 and 2142. 1942 works like a charm. Battlefield 2142 I can see the host from the client regardless of which computer is hosting. The client just will not connect.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Death_EnForcer
post Nov 11 2017, 10:17 PM
Post #5


Dictator
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 2,596
Joined: 17-July 04
From: New Jersey, USA
Member No.: 294



I tried to see if I could connect to a dedicated server for Lan play and it failed. I also get to lost connection error. It looks like you are right about the 1.25 version being the last good one for Lan.
https://dethklokclan.enjin.com/mobile/forum...join-lan-server
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2017 - 05:40 AM