IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Any idea how to exchange cockpit glass of PRīs us_ahe_apache?, The cockpit canopy glass of the apache is too dark, what can be done?
bluehawk112
post Aug 24 2017, 11:31 PM
Post #1


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 5-February 14
From: Planet Mars
Member No.: 10,005



Hey guys,

as you can see in this video here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXJNJl-EPu0

the canopy glass of PRīs apache is shaded. Because Iīm using the Oculus Rift to fly the apache, I need unshaded glass, otherwise itīs sometimes too dark in the Rift - even with a clear blue sky outside.
Any ideas what to do? Can the glass be exchanged?
thanks for help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 8)
clivewil
post Aug 24 2017, 11:50 PM
Post #2


meh.
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 2,008,262
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 3,545



i don't know how PR have their stuff set up, last time i looked they were implementing a lot of custom shaders for certain things, BUT if their glass is normal then you might be able to change the opacity by adjusting the alpha channel. if you can locate the glass on the texture sheet, try lightening/darkening until you find a setting that you like

you can also change the material technique using something like BF2Materials.exe, but the glass in the video didn't seem very reflective so you might not need to adjust this side of things - changing the alpha alone should do what you need


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluehawk112
post Aug 25 2017, 05:37 AM
Post #3


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 5-February 14
From: Planet Mars
Member No.: 10,005



Hey Clive, thank you so much for your reply. Unfortunately, my only tools are notepad and winzip. I donīt have any experiences in working on textures etc.
I made this video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVIrFTml890

As you can see, the whole cockpit and all parts of glass seem to be darker than usual. Most probably, you are right, Clive, but I canīt help myself here.
Perhaps somebody could help, using Cliveīs advice?

thank you guys and thank you very much, Clive :-D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MasterChiefRulZ
post Aug 25 2017, 07:54 AM
Post #4


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,389
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



Post that texture for the cockpit and I'll take a look at it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluehawk112
post Aug 25 2017, 09:32 AM
Post #5


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 5-February 14
From: Planet Mars
Member No.: 10,005



Cool, thank you MCR !Since the us_ahe_apache seems to use textures from the gb_ahe_apache, too, I put all of them in that little download package. Would be very kind of you to check (and if possible, edit)the textures of the gb_ahe_apache, too because of this.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/ge30ry3b6g5i...xtures_AH64.zip

thanks, man :-)

This post has been edited by bluehawk112: Aug 25 2017, 09:34 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MasterChiefRulZ
post Aug 26 2017, 12:24 PM
Post #6


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,389
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



Since this is a simple texture edit that can be done with free software anyone can download here is the approach we're going to take..

What I'm going to do is not do the job for you, but I'm going to empower you to be able to fix this yourself so if you encounter it again you don't have to rely on others.

Download Gimp

Download and install the Gimp .dds plugin


Once all that's installed. Open the apache_cockpit_b file by left-clicking it (you may have to choose 'open with gimp'. In BF2, files ending in b are called the "normal map" which usually reflects bumps and controls how light hits a model.



Click on the "Layers" dialog box


You should be on the "Main Surface" (it will be highlighted in blue and be on top)


Right click the Main Surface and scroll down to "Add Layer Mask"



https://ibb.co/jEV86k


Left click on "Transfer Layer's Alpha Channel" and click "Add" at the bottom of the box



https://ibb.co/iiSAK5


Now Right click on the "Main Surface" and scroll down to "Show Layer Mask" and click it..

https://ibb.co/kvPqK5



You now see what is called the "Alpha Channel" which is on this current "Layer Mask." The Alpha channel determines what is transparent and what is not by white and black. Completely White = Transparent while completely black = Not transparent, greys in between are subtle levels between the two.



So it's on the Alpha Channel layer mask we need to add WHITE to make that area more transparent. You can use shades of grey to make it less transparent. Make sure that on the "Main Surface" layer that the box on the right is selected, which is the Alpha Channel, it should be highlighted in GREEN.





By Looking at the apache_cockpit_C we find that the cockpit glass is in the left corner of this texture.

https://ibb.co/eYszCQ

We're gonna do a little cheat trick to copy/paste the area we want filled in white. DO NOT CLOSE apache_cockpit_b we need both open at once for this next bit.



Open on apache_cockpit_c

1) Click the "Select by Color" Tool in the "Toolbox"

2) Then click on the blank spot on the texture where the apache cockpit is (it's the spot with the grey checkerboard). This will select all that area.

3) Then click "Edit" on the Main texture window and select "Fill with Background Color" which is white by default.


https://ibb.co/kcxMRk



Now that we have it filled with white. We're going to copy it over to that Alpha Channel and apply it.



Hit "Edit" and then "Copy" and then CLOSE AND DISCARD changes made to apache_cockpit_C. Remember, it's the ALPHA CHANNEL on apache_cockpit_b that we are after.


https://ibb.co/mvtHz5


Now click on apache_cockpit_b

Click "EDIT" and then "Paste." Now we have our white overlay of the cockpit in the Alpha Channel.


https://ibb.co/i6uPe5


"Anchor" the bit we just pasted in there by clicking on "Layer" and then "Anchor Layer" in the Main texture box (there are other ways to anchor but I'm trying to keep this simple).


https://ibb.co/bZwsXQ



Click on the right side of the "Main Surface" of the layers window and scroll down to "Apply Layer Mask" and click it.


https://ibb.co/dsso6k


Now click on the main window and go to "File" scroll to "Export As" and click... You'll get a new box just click "Export" and then "Replace"

https://ibb.co/euNo6k



Export with the correct settings of BC3/DXT5 and "generate mipmaps" and you're DONE!!!

https://ibb.co/k02cz5


Now try this newly edited texture and see if it solves your problem.


Images added to help visualize what I'm talking about..


QUOTE
Catch a man a fish, you feed him for a day...

Teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluehawk112
post Aug 27 2017, 03:20 AM
Post #7


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 5-February 14
From: Planet Mars
Member No.: 10,005



Wow, thank you MCR. This must have been quite some work. Excellent describtion, youīre a real specialist in working with textures as it seems.Thank you very much, MCR !


edit: I recognized, thereīs the picture of step 4 missing, could you still add the link?

This post has been edited by bluehawk112: Aug 27 2017, 10:43 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MasterChiefRulZ
post Aug 27 2017, 02:03 PM
Post #8


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,389
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



QUOTE
edit: I recognized, thereīs the picture of step 4 missing, could you still add the link?

Done. After several hours, pics, and text it all sort of got muddled at the end. tongue.gif I hope this helps.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluehawk112
post Aug 27 2017, 04:15 PM
Post #9


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 222
Joined: 5-February 14
From: Planet Mars
Member No.: 10,005



Cool, thanks :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th September 2017 - 09:02 AM