IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Alpha layers question
Sgt_Prof
post Aug 9 2017, 11:45 AM
Post #1


CryEngine 3 environment designer, novel writer,dude who love art
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 958
Joined: 12-September 11
From: Dystopian world
Member No.: 8,214



I've been experimenting with Alpha 1 layers for BF2142 textures but I do faced with weird issues and I'm hoping that some more experienced modders can lend me a hand to solve this matter.

So in the first image below you can see fine new texture with new Alpha 1 layer which I made with photoshop. It looks great from close distance but there appears to be issue from long distance point as whole texture turn outs black (see the second image). Alpha 1 layer looks amazing then combined with reshade.






This post has been edited by Sgt_Prof: Aug 9 2017, 11:46 AM


--------------------
It's hard to beat a person who never gives up
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
MasterChiefRulZ
post Aug 10 2017, 10:42 AM
Post #2


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,424
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



When you say 'alpha 1' layer do you mean the alpha channel? Could you give us a pic of your alpha 1 layer in photoshop so we have a better grasp of what you're referring to?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sgt_Prof
post Aug 10 2017, 12:04 PM
Post #3


CryEngine 3 environment designer, novel writer,dude who love art
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 958
Joined: 12-September 11
From: Dystopian world
Member No.: 8,214



QUOTE (MasterChiefRulZ @ Aug 10 2017, 11:42 AM) *
When you say 'alpha 1' layer do you mean the alpha channel? Could you give us a pic of your alpha 1 layer in photoshop so we have a better grasp of what you're referring to?


Here you go. I hope it helps.



--------------------
It's hard to beat a person who never gives up
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MasterChiefRulZ
post Aug 11 2017, 08:48 AM
Post #4


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,424
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



What does it look like compared to the default BF2142 wall texture? Any differences?

What export settings did you use? When you compare the default BF2142 wall texture with this new one you made, are the settings different in windows texture viewer? You can see the export settings at the bottom of the view window in windows texture viewer.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/windows_texture_viewer.html


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
phale
post Aug 15 2017, 04:46 PM
Post #5


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 164
Joined: 30-May 13
Member No.: 9,609



Looks like a mipmap issue to me, check what mipmap filtering you have when you export. Cubic usually works well although I've heard that Kaiser is the best. Might also want to check that you're saving as DXT5 not DXT3.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 03:35 AM