IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

locking ai in vehicle position
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post May 26 2017, 12:03 AM
Post #1


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



Hello, I was wondering if it is possible to tweak a vehicle so ai cant exit from it when sitting in one specific "position". If not, maybe to be unable to exit from any position. I searched the "list of important threads" but didnt find what I was looking for, but maybe I missed it.
Thanks for your time
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 9)
M.Combat
post May 26 2017, 03:42 AM
Post #2


Mediocre animator and modder
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,084
Joined: 4-October 06
Member No.: 2,251



Technically you could remove lines like:

ObjectTemplate.setSoldierExitLocation -2/-0.2/0 0/0/0
ObjectTemplate.altSoldierExitPosition 0/-0.2/-3

But that would also make humans unable to exit


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluehawk112
post May 26 2017, 03:48 AM
Post #3


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 191
Joined: 5-February 14
From: Planet Mars
Member No.: 10,005



QUOTE (BF2 SP Freak on weed @ May 26 2017, 08:03 AM) *
Hello, I was wondering if it is possible to tweak a vehicle so ai cant exit from it when sitting in one specific "position". If not, maybe to be unable to exit from any position. I searched the "list of important threads" but didnt find what I was looking for, but maybe I missed it. Thanks for your time


Now here is your solution:
you got to put in the line
ObjectTemplate.dontAllowExit 1


And where do you have to put it in? In the tweak file, search for the other lines shown below and put it in like this:


ObjectTemplate.setSoldierExitLocation -2/-0.2/0 0/0/0

ObjectTemplate.dontAllowExit 1

ObjectTemplate.altSoldierExitPosition 0/-0.2/-3





This post has been edited by bluehawk112: May 26 2017, 04:01 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post May 31 2017, 03:48 AM
Post #4


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



Both seem to work but lock the player too, Thank you both anyways
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clivewil
post May 31 2017, 07:18 PM
Post #5


meh.
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 2,008,251
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 3,545



doesn't modifying the 'change' ai behaviour help in this situation?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mschoeldgen
post Jun 1 2017, 10:55 AM
Post #6


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 729
Joined: 26-September 04
From: Berlin
Member No.: 410



It depends on what you want to accomplish. If its an objective where you need to place a bot for the object to take sides, you could create a Spawnpoint, make it AIOnly and set the EnteronSpawn property.

This post has been edited by mschoeldgen: Jun 1 2017, 10:55 AM


--------------------
http://www.xww2.com Reviving the past on todays game engine
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frosty98B
post Jun 2 2017, 01:38 PM
Post #7


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 44
Joined: 11-July 14
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 10,231



I never really cared how, but it was already done in the "Zombie Assault Mod" for BF2142. There's a bot called R2D2 (yeah, guess why lol) on a gunner seat in the Car, APC and I'm pretty sure that it's featured in other vehicles as well. It's inside since the vehicle spawns (or since the player enters it - I don't really know) and the player is able to get in and out with zero trouble. I recommend you to check it out. wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dnamro
post Jun 3 2017, 12:41 PM
Post #8


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,861
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



QUOTE (Frosty98B @ Jun 2 2017, 02:38 PM) *
I never really cared how, but it was already done in the "Zombie Assault Mod" for BF2142. There's a bot called R2D2 (yeah, guess why lol) on a gunner seat in the Car, APC and I'm pretty sure that it's featured in other vehicles as well. It's inside since the vehicle spawns (or since the player enters it - I don't really know) and the player is able to get in and out with zero trouble. I recommend you to check it out. wink.gif


In BF2142 'R2D2' is the name give to an autocontrolled postion. It is not a true bot. Autocontrollers are not available for BF2, so it is only a BF2142 feature. The only problem with using them is that autocontrolled positions can not be taken over by players from within the vehicle. They have to be taken over from outside the vehicle.

I agree with Clive, Aibehaviors is the way to go.


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post Jun 5 2017, 12:19 AM
Post #9


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



Well, I was planning to read the ai tutorials on the "list of modding threads" later on anyway
Thanks for all the replies
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fastj@ck
post Jun 5 2017, 10:10 AM
Post #10


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 249
Joined: 24-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,523



QUOTE
Autocontrollers are not available for BF2, so it is only a BF2142 feature. The only problem with using them is that autocontrolled positions can not be taken over by players from within the vehicle. They have to be taken over from outside the vehicle.


So the way is to create PCO's for the vehicles in BF2142 that are design for infantry (players /bots) and some PCO's that arent designed for infantry, only for the Autocontroller Can you lock such PCO's by giving them PCO iD 0, so no one can enter it from outside?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2017 - 12:51 PM