IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

disable names
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post Mar 7 2017, 12:00 AM
Post #1


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



Hello, I would like to completely disable names showing above "players", no matter what "rank" you play as (unassigned, s. member, s. leader or commander) I searched the List of important modding threads and didnt find anything on that.
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 10)
bad_santa12345
post Mar 7 2017, 05:27 AM
Post #2


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 67
Joined: 15-January 12
Member No.: 8,670



Add "renderer.drawNametags 0" to init.con

This post has been edited by bad_santa12345: Mar 7 2017, 05:28 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post Mar 15 2017, 01:00 AM
Post #3


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



It worked, thanks a lot
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MasterChiefRulZ
post Mar 16 2017, 08:28 PM
Post #4


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,444
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



Thanks to BadSanta for answering this topic, but also be sure to check the BF2/BF2142 Frequently Asked Questions sticky posted in the main BF2 forum. It also had the answer to this question already posted. smile.gif

http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/for...?showtopic=3768




--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post Aug 18 2017, 09:59 PM
Post #5


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



Hello, everyone, It's me again. Adding that line worked perfectly with every mod I play, except with the Pirates 2 mod, where it works but only on some maps, I can't make it work on the others, it has me kind of puzzled. I'll appreciate any advice
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MasterChiefRulZ
post Aug 20 2017, 01:23 PM
Post #6


You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 10,444
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Home
Member No.: 48



QUOTE (BF2 SP Freak on weed @ Aug 18 2017, 11:59 PM) *
Hello, everyone, It's me again. Adding that line worked perfectly with every mod I play, except with the Pirates 2 mod, where it works but only on some maps, I can't make it work on the others, it has me kind of puzzled. I'll appreciate any advice

Those some maps probably have custom files mounted within the maps themselves, with their own settings. Just like how mappers would put custom content like weapons or skins into their maps, file settings can be mounted as well.

Check to see the init.con of those maps for custom settings. Look for folders within the maps that might hold code with "renderer.nametag" lines.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post Aug 30 2017, 12:10 AM
Post #7


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



Yeah, I thought of that but I can't find where in the init file (or other files) to put the line (I keep trying different places but none works) I'll keep looking, thanx anyway
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluehawk112
post Aug 30 2017, 07:55 AM
Post #8


Dishonorable Discharge
****

Group: Guests
Posts: 238
Joined: 5-February 14
From: Planet DO THIS FOR ME OR I HATE U
Member No.: 10,005



QUOTE (BF2 SP Freak on weed @ Aug 30 2017, 08:10 AM) *
Yeah, I thought of that but I can't find where in the init file (or other files) to put the line (I keep trying different places but none works) I'll keep looking, thanx anyway

Man, itīs really easy to find your solution with google. Navigate to bf2/gamelogicinit.con


add:
renderer.drawnametags 0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post Sep 11 2017, 02:49 AM
Post #9


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



This doesn't seem to work either but thanx anyway
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bad_santa12345
post Sep 11 2017, 04:53 AM
Post #10


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 67
Joined: 15-January 12
Member No.: 8,670



Overkill solution which should work for any map or mod would be to make an invisible hud button which will constantly execute "renderer.drawnametags 0" command.

CODE
hudBuilder.createButtonNode         Global NoNameTagsButton -1 -1 802 602
hudBuilder.setButtonNodeConCmd        "renderer.drawnametags 0" 1
hudBuilder.setNodeShowVariable             TVBlink


Add that to the beginning of HudSetupMain.con and "renderer.drawnametags 0" will be executed once per second while player is alive IIRC. You must use TVBlink as the show variable because the hover event won't be triggered if the button is constantly shown.

This post has been edited by bad_santa12345: Sep 11 2017, 04:55 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BF2 SP Freak on ...
post Sep 17 2017, 09:56 PM
Post #11


Private
**

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-August 16
Member No.: 11,722



I didnīt understand half of what you said, but your suggestion worked fine, so thank you very very much
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2017 - 04:16 PM