IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Issues trying to get Coop running on PR Falklands map
Outlawz
post Dec 31 2016, 06:43 AM
Post #1


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 64
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 3,951



Project Reality has a 8km map called Falklands which uses static object terrain. I've had a bunch of crashes trying to navmesh it but succeed. Now I can't get the map to run in gpm_coop, it crashes at 100%.

Debug first gave me this error:
CODE
Version: 1.1.2878-710.0 Build date:
Active object template: S_Game_nl_loose
Active geom template: ziplinerope
Module: Physics
File: D:\DiceCanada\BoosterPack2\Code\BF2\Physics\Heightmap.cpp
Line: 2732

Expression: size == 129 || size == 257 || size == 513 || size == 1025 || size == 2049 || size == 4097 || size == 8193
Text: Invalid heightmap size

Current confile:


This is original heightdata
CODE
heightmapcluster.create HeighmapCluster
heightmapcluster.setClusterSize 3
heightmapcluster.setHeightmapSize 8192

rem --- primary ---
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 0 0
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.00115966796875/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 1
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapPrimary.raw
heightmap.setMaterialScale 1
heightmap.loadMaterialData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapPrimary.mat

rem --- secondary ---
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap -1 -1
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_L1U1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 0 -1
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_U1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 1 -1
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_R1U1.raw

heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap -1 0
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_L1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 1 0
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_R1.raw

heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap -1 1
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_L1D1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 0 1
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_D1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 1 1
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.64/512
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_R1D1.raw

heightmapcluster.setSeaWaterLevel -9982


Which I then modified and resized all heightmaps to 129, it ran once ( http://i.imgur.com/gAcOnwd.jpg !) but after modifying coop GPO it now crashes again but different error


CODE
heightmapcluster.create HeighmapCluster
heightmapcluster.setClusterSize 3
heightmapcluster.setHeightmapSize 8192

rem --- primary ---
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 0 0
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.00115966796875/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 1
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapPrimary.raw
heightmap.setMaterialScale 1
heightmap.loadMaterialData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapPrimary.mat

rem --- secondary ---
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap -1 -1
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_L1U1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 0 -1
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_U1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 1 -1
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_R1U1.raw

heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap -1 0
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_L1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 1 0
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_R1.raw

heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap -1 1
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_L1D1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 0 1
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_D1.raw
heightmapcluster.addHeightmap Heightmap 1 1
heightmap.setSize 129 129
heightmap.setScale 64/0.64/64
heightmap.setBitResolution 8
heightmap.setModified 0
heightmap.loadHeightData Levels/the_falklands/HeightmapSecondary_R1D1.raw

heightmapcluster.setSeaWaterLevel -9982


new error

CODE
Version: 1.1.2878-710.0 Build date:
Active object template: S_Game_nl_loose
Active geom template: ziplinerope
Module: Geom
File: D:\DiceCanada\BoosterPack2\Code\BF2\Geom\LightManager.cpp
Line: 1377

Expression: read == hmsize*hmsize

Current confile:



Any input appreciated


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 7)
mschoeldgen
post Dec 31 2016, 09:12 AM
Post #2


Major
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 738
Joined: 26-September 04
From: Berlin
Member No.: 410



QUOTE
I can't get the map to run in gpm_coop

Does it run in other gamemodes? An invalid size of the heigthmap would not run in e.g. gpm_cq, either.

CODE
heightmap.setSize 17 17
heightmap.setScale 512/0.00115966796875/512

This does look very suspicous. Your heightmap here would only have a size of 17*17 and a scale of 512? From what i know of BF2 this is way off.
Its probably best to determine the size of the heigthmap (if you didn't modify 'heightmap.raw') from its size on disk.
E.g. a map of 1025*1025 with a scale of 4 would result in a heightmap size of
CODE
1025*1025*2 = 2101250 Bytes

and a map roughly the size 4km * 4km.
As the heightmap is stored in a raw format with 16 bit resolution (therefore we multiply by 2 the get the size in bytes).
If you check the size of your heightmap.raw and post it we can see what you should write in heighmap.con to get the map up and running.

This post has been edited by mschoeldgen: Dec 31 2016, 09:12 AM


--------------------
http://www.xww2.com Reviving the past on todays game engine
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlawz
post Jan 1 2017, 07:14 AM
Post #3


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 64
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 3,951



Yes, the map's heightmaps (primary and secondary) are 17 pixels, 8-bit and yes the map works in cq and other gamemodes except coop.

No, the terrain doesn't show up but that's the point, entire map is static objects (water and terrain).


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bad_santa12345
post Jan 2 2017, 01:51 AM
Post #4


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 67
Joined: 15-January 12
Member No.: 8,670



No experience in this area of BF2 engine but from the error messages it looks like the first error is because of unsupported heightmap size and the second one is from that the set terrain size doesn't match the actual heightmap size. I think "heightmap.setSize" should always match the size of the .raw file in pixels and it should be either 129, 257, 513, 1025, 2049, 4097 or 8193.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlawz
post Jan 3 2017, 06:06 AM
Post #5


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 64
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 3,951



But they do match, I resized it to 129 after first error and then got second error.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bad_santa12345
post Jan 3 2017, 08:26 AM
Post #6


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 67
Joined: 15-January 12
Member No.: 8,670



QUOTE (Outlawz @ Jan 3 2017, 02:06 PM) *
But they do match, I resized it to 129 after first error and then got second error.

Ah biggrin.gif I should have read more carefully.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlawz
post Jan 3 2017, 08:50 AM
Post #7


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 64
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 3,951



I made a simple GPO without object spawner (flags and spawn points only) and map works (this is with 129px heightmap). So turns out GPO is the problem.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlawz
post Jan 4 2017, 01:02 PM
Post #8


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 64
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 3,951



I spent time remming out object spawners trying to nail down a faulty vehicle until I got to the point the map worked minus one or two spawners.

The map's combat zone is disabled via 'CombatAreaManager.use 0' and since editor reenables it, I disabled it, at which point I thought 'maybe it's that' and reenabled it without remming any spawners and the map worked in coop. Afterwards I ran the map again in coop, same GPO that worked and it crashed again.

Whatever this read == hmsize*hmsize error is, it's inconsistent.

EDIT: I also found 'read == hmsize*hmsize' in logs for coop layers that worked perfectly fine, so must be something else.

This post has been edited by Outlawz: Jan 6 2017, 09:10 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:40 AM