Soldier Texturing via GIMP, Normals, Alphas
MasterChiefRulZ
post Dec 21 2012, 02:03 PM
Post #1

You know the drill...
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Member No.: 48

I may be waaayy off base, granted I'm new to texturing, so I may be calling something of the wrong title/descriptive name as what it actually is.

I created a new set of glove textures, and I was meaning to properly normal map(?) them. I'm referring to the os files attached to texture files. My glove is quite different from the original MEC composition, and I certainly desire to correct those misaligned details/highlights.

Browsing the net I've found several tuts, but none for BF2 (mostly CSS). I've downloaded the Normal map generator plugin for Gimp, created several normal maps but they all look horrid. My questions are...

Are there any actual tutorials for generating this os file for BF2, short of what I've seen referred to as 'baking'?

If not, what settings does one use when saving os files after editing?

Thanks to any who can point me in the right direction.

EDIT:

Edited title to reflect (ha) new nature of thread. One cannot generate an os (short of 'baking' a model) but must 'hack' the original os to meet the newly created skin. In my case, my goal is gloves having proper reflection/highlights in desired areas, as well as eliminating old details from the previous default skin (currently working on new MEC gloves).

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 8)
Nikoagonistes
post Dec 21 2012, 06:56 PM
Post #2

Major

Group: Soldiers
Member No.: 7,422

Well, when I needed new normalmaps for objects and uniforms, I used a free normalmapping program from the internet (I forgot what it was called at this moment.)

Its normalmapping was in an opposite direction from the usual BF2 normalmaps, so if you need to normalmap only part of a texture piece then I have some advice: