IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

P4F alpha release
bobthedinosaur
post Dec 1 2012, 02:29 PM
Post #1


Dictator
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,223
Joined: 4-March 11
From: A Cold Place
Member No.: 7,896



The Play4Free coop mod's alpha release is here for testing!

Current Version: Alpha 001 (AIX2 dependent), with optional bf2vanilla alternative patch

link: http://battlefieldsingleplayer.com/bobthed...p4fmapsA001.zip
link for bf2 Vanilla patch: http://battlefieldsingleplayer.com/bobthed...bf2v%20a001.zip
link for Strike at Karkand: http://battlefieldsingleplayer.com/bobthed..._p4f%20a001.zip To install extract the folder "strike_at_karkand_p4f" into your "levels" directory that is found in your p4f mods folder. Included in the Karkand zip is an extra init file for bf2v players. To use place inside the server.zip and override your old init.

Please read the following:
-Credits for the content is
explicitly to DICE, EASY Studios, the official "Battlefield Play4Free Team", and their respective developers and artists which can be found here http://battlefield.play4free.com/en/credits
-Credits for the hard work in navmeshing, porting, and creating new collision meshes: Dnamro, Spyker2041, bobthedinosaur
-We ask that you PLEASE Do NOT upload this release onto another site, as it makes version control a real headache.
-This release is an alpha. If you see bugs don't get mad, get glad that you can report them and improve the next release version. We are counting on bug testers out there to go through some extensive play and report back to us on issues and improvement suggestions!
-This version is dependent on files from the BF2 mod AIX2, so if you want the kits to work properly you will need AIX2 installed.
-Currently there are only 4 maps (with strike at Karkand). Don't worry we are working on the others, so there is more to come.
-There is a known ambient effects graphics issue in Karkand with black box trash blowing in the wind. Don't worry this will be fixed later. We are mainly testing for navmesh and bad bot behavior glitches right now.
-If you have read and understand the above then please use the following as the archive password: bfsponly


Installation instructions:
-Extract the mod folder titled "p4fmaps" into the ..whereever/EA GAMES\Battlefield 2\mods folder.
-ensure you have AIX2 installed in the same ..whereever/EA GAMES\Battlefield 2\ folder.
-make a bf2 shortcut and right click properties the shortcut. In the "Target" field add " +modPath mods/p4fmaps" to the path. (using +restart 0 also is nice).
for example the target field could look like this: "C:\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES\Battlefield 2\BF2.exe" +modPath mods/p4fmaps +restart 0

For Testers that do not have AIX2:
I uploaded a bf2 vanilla patch to over ride the aix files and let you use the bf2 vanilla files.
To use install first file as instructed above, then open the zip and drop files into the p4fmaps folder, (that should be located in your /mods/ folder), and then override the files being replaced as prompted.



Remember; any improvements in the next release will rely on feedback from the community. So please share bug reports and suggestions.
-Also, please state the bf2 exe version you testing on ie: 1.5 or 1.41 or earlier. This might help clarify issues with some versions and not on others.

This post has been edited by bobthedinosaur: Dec 3 2012, 11:19 PM


--------------------
Not doing modding right now, so please don't ask.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 14)
poompoom500
post Dec 1 2012, 05:42 PM
Post #2


poompoom500
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 1,580
Joined: 18-May 07
From: Jersey City, New Jersey
Member No.: 3,285



ph34r.gif

Uhm...I need the password to unzip the file. NVM!

P.S. Anyway you can make it work for AIX? Cause I don't have AIX2. NVM.

This post has been edited by poompoom500: Dec 1 2012, 05:55 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bobthedinosaur
post Dec 1 2012, 06:15 PM
Post #3


Dictator
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,223
Joined: 4-March 11
From: A Cold Place
Member No.: 7,896



you dont have aix2? I guess I could make a bf2v alternative..

This post has been edited by bobthedinosaur: Dec 1 2012, 06:15 PM


--------------------
Not doing modding right now, so please don't ask.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dnamro
post Dec 1 2012, 09:31 PM
Post #4


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,826
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



QUOTE (poompoom500 @ Dec 1 2012, 05:42 PM) *
Cause I don't have AIX2.


Blasphemy you say!!!

The video PoomPoom posted on the front page is not of the current mod that we released. That was showing one of the weapons that Dodek was testing in a standard BF2 map. P4F weapons are not in the mod yet. That will require additional testing and balancing. Right now, the mod is using AIX kits and weapons. We wanted to show off the navmeshing and converson progress of Trail and Basra now, rather than wait for Dodek's weapon conversions to be added and playtested.

I don't see a need to make a BF2 version that only has BF2 stock weapons. Anyone that really wants to try our the new P4F map conversions can install AIX.


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poompoom500
post Dec 1 2012, 09:42 PM
Post #5


poompoom500
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 1,580
Joined: 18-May 07
From: Jersey City, New Jersey
Member No.: 3,285



ph34r.gif

QUOTE
you dont have aix2? I guess I could make a bf2v alternative..


Yeh. But I said NVM (never mind). I just downloaded it and installed it!

QUOTE
Blasphemy you say!!!


Nay, masteh. Forsooth, I have downloaded thy mod and hath installed it. Mercy, pray tell!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tycobb79
post Dec 1 2012, 09:42 PM
Post #6


Captain "of the toes"
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 339
Joined: 26-October 04
From: Indiana
Member No.: 429



Thanks guys for sharing your work!


--------------------
"Regards"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bobthedinosaur
post Dec 1 2012, 10:39 PM
Post #7


Dictator
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,223
Joined: 4-March 11
From: A Cold Place
Member No.: 7,896



no problem. just be sure to share your report.


--------------------
Not doing modding right now, so please don't ask.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poompoom500
post Dec 2 2012, 12:48 AM
Post #8


poompoom500
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 1,580
Joined: 18-May 07
From: Jersey City, New Jersey
Member No.: 3,285



ph34r.gif

Dnamro or bobthedinosaur, I NEED the password. I can't unzip it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bobthedinosaur
post Dec 2 2012, 01:20 AM
Post #9


Dictator
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,223
Joined: 4-March 11
From: A Cold Place
Member No.: 7,896



did you read the info. it should be in there.

QUOTE
Please read the following:
-Credits for the content is explicitly to DICE, EASY Studios, the official "Battlefield Play4Free Team", and their respective developers and artists which can be found here http://battlefield.play4free.com/en/credits
-Credits for the hard work in navmeshing, porting, and creating new collision meshes: Dnamro, Spyker2041, bobthedinosaur
-We ask that you PLEASE Do NOT upload this release onto another site, as it makes version control a real headache.
-This release is an alpha. If you see bugs don't get mad, get glad that you can report them and improve the next release version. We are counting on bug testers out there to go through some extensive play and report back to us on issues and improvement suggestions!
-This version is dependent on files from the BF2 mod AIX2, so if you want the kits to work properly you will need AIX2 installed.
-Currently there are only 3 maps. Don't worry we are working on the others, so there is more to come.
-If you have read and understand the above then please use the following as the archive password: bfsponly

look at the last line

Anyways I am adding a bf2 vanilla patch in case in one for some ungodly reason does not have aix2, and wants to test using bf2 vanilla kits.

This post has been edited by bobthedinosaur: Dec 2 2012, 01:20 AM


--------------------
Not doing modding right now, so please don't ask.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clivewil
post Dec 2 2012, 01:42 AM
Post #10


meh.
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 2,008,236
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 3,545



QUOTE
-If you have read and understand the above then...

try again, poom. you were so close.

---> boo, outkeyboarded by bob the speedy triceratops


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poompoom500
post Dec 2 2012, 03:33 AM
Post #11


poompoom500
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 1,580
Joined: 18-May 07
From: Jersey City, New Jersey
Member No.: 3,285



ph34r.gif

Well, I did browse through the read me text. Sorry.

Okay. I shall try your mod now! Wish me luck. And if I don't reply back, send in the reinforcements!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sgt_Prof
post Dec 2 2012, 03:46 AM
Post #12


CryEngine 3 environment designer, novel writer,dude who love art
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 945
Joined: 12-September 11
From: Dystopian world
Member No.: 8,214



Thank you all for hard work ! It works smile.gif Also I gonna to add some gun ports and stuff from SOW only for personal mod and demonstration videos.


--------------------
It's hard to beat a person who never gives up
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poompoom500
post Dec 2 2012, 04:02 AM
Post #13


poompoom500
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 1,580
Joined: 18-May 07
From: Jersey City, New Jersey
Member No.: 3,285



ph34r.gif

Yeh. I made it back alive. NICE WORK guys! I got pinned several times but somehow I resurrected back to life. Go figure.

Just a few screenies below:







ph34r.gif

Profkiller336, why don't you share it with us. This way I can place them at the BF2 MOD section!

BTW (By the way), I added the mod to our (BFSP) BF2 MOD section - http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/?p=...mp;g=5&cp=4. Let me know if you want any changes made to the page. Also, I need a logo for your mod.

This post has been edited by poompoom500: Dec 2 2012, 04:41 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sgt_Prof
post Dec 2 2012, 05:14 AM
Post #14


CryEngine 3 environment designer, novel writer,dude who love art
****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 945
Joined: 12-September 11
From: Dystopian world
Member No.: 8,214



@poompoom, I'm too busy and a bit lazy lol biggrin.gif


--------------------
It's hard to beat a person who never gives up
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poompoom500
post Dec 2 2012, 05:16 AM
Post #15


poompoom500
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 1,580
Joined: 18-May 07
From: Jersey City, New Jersey
Member No.: 3,285



ph34r.gif

Found some bugs. No flags on the mini HUD. The game CTDs after a few skirmishes when we capture all the flags.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd June 2017 - 04:08 PM