IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

BF2Materials.exe/ShaderWrapper dicussion, (split off from Current WIP thread)
EzPiKnZ[ONT]
post Oct 6 2008, 04:48 PM
Post #1


Are you the Gate Keeper?
*****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 1-July 04
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 271



The shaderwrapper tool (I think it's called) does not require max to use. It only extracts the info it needs from the bundlemesh, into easy to read txt form, and puts it back in after chages to paths or procedures are made.


--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 14)
GroovyDawg
post Oct 6 2008, 05:28 PM
Post #2


Groovy, you are GJ.
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,741
Joined: 30-July 08
From: On vacation.
Member No.: 5,410



Hmmm..shaderwrapper tool huh? Haven't done any searches yet, but I'm guessing it edits how the lights/shades wraps the object right, hence shaderwrapper. tongue.gif

Thanks for the info EsPiknZ (name so hard I looked thrice). Should help me get the reflections going. bigthumb.gif


--------------------
~I salute you, the AIX gentlemen.~

U MAD? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Asus G73JH-X3| Intel® Core™ i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon 5870 1GB GDDR5 | 2x320GB Seagate 7200 RPM | 17.3" LED 1920x1080
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SatNav
post Oct 6 2008, 10:48 PM
Post #3


Skynet
********

Group: Banned
Posts: 6,918
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 752



dunno.gif

This post has been edited by SatNav: Apr 4 2009, 04:47 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clivewil
post Oct 7 2008, 12:28 AM
Post #4


meh.
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 2,008,283
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 3,545



QUOTE
Haven't done any searches yet, but I'm guessing it edits how the lights/shades wraps the object right, hence shaderwrapper.

actually the 'wrapper' part just refers to the front-end GUI for it that Harry and Hoofer wrote; some people find Rex's command-line tool hard to use and the GUI makes it easier (i prefer the command line myself, so i can keep different versions of the output .txt files)

QUOTE
the problem is without using 3dsmax you will just make the entire gun shiny and not the parts you want.

the alpha channel should still give you some control over what parts are shiny and what aren't, but if you're lucky, the mesh will have several materials applied to it and it will be only one of them that needs changing


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GroovyDawg
post Oct 7 2008, 07:32 AM
Post #5


Groovy, you are GJ.
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,741
Joined: 30-July 08
From: On vacation.
Member No.: 5,410



Please keep in mind that I am ENTIRELY new to this side of the modding world. tongue.gif

It will seem a little easier with 3DS, and more possibilities will be well, possible. And as of now, with zero understanding of how it all works, I kindly beseech you to be patient in all following, from now to hereafter, inpertinent newbie questions that inevitably present themselves. smile.gif

First the alpha channel. I don't really FULLY understand its principles and what it does. When I "altered" in Photoshop, it was in the channels tab. Red, Blue, Green all checked to give my present colour and "alpha" uncheck. Checked Alpha, and my skin turns a shade of red. blink.gif
So what I did to give it a better "shine" in game. Its quite present actually, was to select the alpha, turn the exposure and off set up, and add a little glow. Making it some sort of solid, ethereal layer of whiteness. This generally covers the main barrel of it.
Weird photoshopping I know. But I still wear my n00bs sign.

As for commands lines, I'm totally unfamiliar to what looks like what and how what should look like. I guess it takes time and experience to break in. So until I get 3DS or equivalent, (soon I tell ya. ph34r.gif ), I'll ask for more pointers. Thanks for bearing and splitting the thread for me. happy.gif

This post has been edited by GroovyDawg: Oct 7 2008, 07:33 AM


--------------------
~I salute you, the AIX gentlemen.~

U MAD? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Asus G73JH-X3| Intel® Core™ i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon 5870 1GB GDDR5 | 2x320GB Seagate 7200 RPM | 17.3" LED 1920x1080
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EzPiKnZ[ONT]
post Oct 7 2008, 04:20 PM
Post #6


Are you the Gate Keeper?
*****

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 1,027
Joined: 1-July 04
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 271



The alpha channel is used for transparency and/or shine depending on the shader technique is applied to the poly it covers. It is a greyscale channel. When used for transparency, the more black, the more transparent that area will be. When used for gloss/shine, the more white, the more shine.

This post has been edited by EzPiKnZ[ONT]: Oct 7 2008, 04:21 PM


--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SatNav
post Oct 7 2008, 09:39 PM
Post #7


Skynet
********

Group: Banned
Posts: 6,918
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 752



if you want it to reflect the environment then use the shader tools to change the material name to EnvMapColormapGloss.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GroovyDawg
post Oct 8 2008, 08:34 AM
Post #8


Groovy, you are GJ.
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,741
Joined: 30-July 08
From: On vacation.
Member No.: 5,410



CODE
geom0
lod0

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: ColormapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_c.dds
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: EnvMapColormapGloss <- This is already EnvMapColormapGloss, so I'm guessing it already is reflective?
Type: 0
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_c.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

lod1

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: ColormapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_c.dds
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: Alpha
Type: 1
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_as50/textures/scopelens.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

geom1
lod0

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: ColormapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_c.dds
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

lod1

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: ColormapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_c.dds
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

lod2

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: ColormapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_c.dds
Texture: objects/weapons/handheld/aix_barrett_m109/textures/aix_m109_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds


I need a walkthrough. Searching now... Eyebrows.gif

This post has been edited by GroovyDawg: Oct 8 2008, 08:36 AM


--------------------
~I salute you, the AIX gentlemen.~

U MAD? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Asus G73JH-X3| Intel® Core™ i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon 5870 1GB GDDR5 | 2x320GB Seagate 7200 RPM | 17.3" LED 1920x1080
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SatNav
post Oct 8 2008, 09:33 PM
Post #9


Skynet
********

Group: Banned
Posts: 6,918
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 752



dunno.gif

This post has been edited by SatNav: Apr 4 2009, 04:47 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GroovyDawg
post Oct 9 2008, 08:07 AM
Post #10


Groovy, you are GJ.
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,741
Joined: 30-July 08
From: On vacation.
Member No.: 5,410



So its trial and error from hence forth eh? Seeing as how I don't have 3Ds to physically view the gun's surfaces and what-nots.


--------------------
~I salute you, the AIX gentlemen.~

U MAD? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Asus G73JH-X3| Intel® Core™ i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon 5870 1GB GDDR5 | 2x320GB Seagate 7200 RPM | 17.3" LED 1920x1080
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clivewil
post Oct 9 2008, 09:00 AM
Post #11


meh.
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 2,008,283
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 3,545



if you want to see what map slot affects what polys, make a brightly coloured like red or purple texture called i.e. fugly.dds and apply it to one slot at a time (or different colours and one in each channel)

that way you can see exactly which polys are used by whichever material ID


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GroovyDawg
post Oct 9 2008, 09:07 AM
Post #12


Groovy, you are GJ.
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,741
Joined: 30-July 08
From: On vacation.
Member No.: 5,410



A fugly purple, fugly red, fugly green for EACH material ID then see ingame which color goes where? Is that how the principle is? Hmm. Ok.

But where do I put this .dds textures? In the textures folder as well?

One more question clivewil, how do you generate the camo patterns on your beautiful planes? I tried rendering clouds, then circling out the big bits, then manually aligning them on the wings. Any simpler skinning methods?


--------------------
~I salute you, the AIX gentlemen.~

U MAD? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Asus G73JH-X3| Intel® Core™ i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon 5870 1GB GDDR5 | 2x320GB Seagate 7200 RPM | 17.3" LED 1920x1080
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clivewil
post Oct 9 2008, 10:11 AM
Post #13


meh.
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 2,008,283
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 3,545



let's say your intial output is something like so, and you want to know which parts already have the envmap material on them:

geom1
lod0

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: ColorMapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_c.dds
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: EnvMapColorMapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_c_uvw.dds
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds


you would then change it to something like:

geom1
lod0

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: ColorMapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_c.dds
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds

Shader: BundledMesh.fx
Technique: EnvMapColorMapGloss
Type: 0
Texture: objects/testTextures/MoFoUgly.dds
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_b.dds
Texture: Common\Textures\SpecularLUT_pow36.dds


you could just drop the new textures into the objects' textures folder; i only did it this way to show you that you could put them almost anywhere - as long as the paths and names are right

don't worry about the normalmap (_b.dds) or lookup table (SpecularLUT) entries; it's only the colour you're interested in at this point

QUOTE
Any simpler skinning methods?

i use the simplest method ever: i paint it on manually and make sure every seam lines up (can't stand mis-aligned camo patterns) - if you keep your object open in the editor, you can watch your texture update each time you save it (as long as your editor is set to auto reload textures, of course)

it can get pretty fiddly but is usually worth it: "ok, second tan strip on left wing needs to grow forwards about 3 pixels... erase back about 1 pixel..." etc. etc. - sometimes it's hard to get perfect but is always better than not trying at all, heh. lining up camo on a typical plane/heli can take me up to 2 hours depending on the pattern and how slack i was when i unwrapped it


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GroovyDawg
post Nov 6 2008, 10:03 AM
Post #14


Groovy, you are GJ.
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 3,741
Joined: 30-July 08
From: On vacation.
Member No.: 5,410



Hmm, the shader wrapper tools doesn't save my changes to it. I've ran as admin and xp compat, and it still doesn't save my settings. I clicked "set mesh" numerous time.
Could it be the file I'm saving is a skinnedMesh instead of a bundledMesh that's giving me issues?

Nope edit. Turns out the read-only button was checked. My mistake.
As you were gentlemen. smile.gif

This post has been edited by GroovyDawg: Nov 6 2008, 10:20 AM


--------------------
~I salute you, the AIX gentlemen.~

U MAD? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Asus G73JH-X3| Intel® Core™ i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon 5870 1GB GDDR5 | 2x320GB Seagate 7200 RPM | 17.3" LED 1920x1080
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
korben_dallas
post Nov 7 2008, 02:49 PM
Post #15


Classic Rock? no.. classic BF2
******

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 2,497
Joined: 28-June 04
From: USA
Member No.: 262



QUOTE(clivewil @ Oct 9 2008, 12:11 PM) *
Texture: objects/vehicles/air/aix_firefox/textures/aix_firefox_c.dds


He did it. D**n, if he didn't actually do it.


--------------------
Thanx!

~Keith "Korben Dallas"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th February 2018 - 11:48 AM