IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

BF1942 Doesn't work with Windows 10 unless......, Fixing BF1942 for Windows 10
Death_EnForcer
post Nov 7 2015, 12:19 AM
Post #1


Dictator
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 2,608
Joined: 17-July 04
From: New Jersey, USA
Member No.: 294



I have 3 computers with BF1942 working in Windows 10. The first computer just asked me if I wanted to enable DirectPlay when I tried to play BF1942. I answered yes and it installed DirectPlay with no problems and
BF1942 worked fine. My second and third computers both went into black screens of death instead of the blue screen of Death when I tried to play BF1942. They just hanged frozen.
By pressing Alt- Tab I could see the DirectPlay install screen. But I could not get it to install. I tried googling but could not find any answers on how to install the DirectPlay manually.
With my alt tabbing I could see a window with info about Windows features installation. Here is the command for installing it from the Run section. FONDUE.exe /enable-feature:directplay
I ran that command and the DirectPlay feature installed and now BF1942 works on all 3 computers. Here's the command again.
FONDUE.exe /enable-feature:directplay
Here's a thread about the same problem.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1568181/help-in...y-on-windows-10
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Start new topic
Replies (30 - 32)
voun
post Feb 4 2018, 03:39 PM
Post #31


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 63
Joined: 17-January 06
From: Land of flowing Camembert !
Member No.: 1,412



Had the same problem with W10, fixed by applying this, and it works fine now. Good luck! :

"We know some people get sometimes issus with their new operating systems like Windows 10. Thats why we want to present you the solution Windows 10 solution tutorial, created bySgt_Garcia AK joeldecaroual . It works for some another old games too. Yes its true, you can play Battlefield 1942 and his mods actually online, like in your good old times via Gamespy Browser.
We are happy to meet you after the tutorial back on our 100 different Game Servers Online.

A.) I saw on some versions of Windows 10 (but also about Windows 8 and 8.1) you do (must) also run FH "as an administrator for all users"
For that do:
Click mouse's right button FH icon (shortcut)
Click "Compatibility"
Select "Run this program as an administrator"
Click "Change settings for all users"
Then you can see "Compatibility for all users"
Click (tick) "Run this program as an administrator"
Click "Apply" then click "OK"
Then restart (reboot) your computer.

B.) But if you want to install "Battlefield 1942" on a fresh install of Windows 10 or after a new upgrade of windows 10 (in reality a new version of Windows 10)
you do (must) activate "Direct Play".

B1.) Navigate to:
Control Panel

B2.) In left part of the page click:
"Turn Windows features on or off"

B3.) You can see a window named (with name):
"Windows features"

B4.) Click "Legacy Components"

B5.) Then select "DirectPlay"

B6.) Then restart (reboot) your PC.


Please look at these links:
https://windowsforum.com/threads/turn-on-di...-and-10.205952/

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...80713b19?auth=1 "


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Anthony817
post Feb 4 2018, 11:31 PM
Post #32


Battlefield: Korea mod leader
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 90
Joined: 13-May 16
From: Fort Worth, Texas
Member No.: 11,469



QUOTE (voun @ Feb 4 2018, 03:39 PM) *
B.) But if you want to install "Battlefield 1942" on a fresh install of Windows 10 or after a new upgrade of windows 10 (in reality a new version of Windows 10)
you do (must) activate "Direct Play".

B1.) Navigate to:
Control Panel

B2.) In left part of the page click:
"Turn Windows features on or off"

B3.) You can see a window named (with name):
"Windows features"

B4.) Click "Legacy Components"

B5.) Then select "DirectPlay"

B6.) Then restart (reboot) your PC.


Lol, thanks for the help but I already checked that that particular setting was enabled the first day I tried playing. That is why I said I already tried everything, all the usual steps.

I did get Vietnam working though, and said screw it and installed WW2 Extended mod just to be able to play around with bots. Still I would rather play the real game working.

I am working on recreating Battlefield 1942 in BF2 engine, so I wanted to research everything how it is on all maps instead of trying to go from memory.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ridgeraiser
post Today, 07:04 AM
Post #33


Major
Group Icon

Group: BFSP Team
Posts: 309
Joined: 17-May 12
Member No.: 9,097



Anthony817, i want to help you. I have a windows 10 pc outside and a friend what use windows 10 and I fixed the issues on both systems. Pls download for this teamviewer v12? I can check your installation. I just try to download the next update v13 soon, if I have back my volume packet to download it via wlan.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th February 2018 - 11:31 AM