IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

How can i convert sm, rs format?
Tongkhangte
post Jul 13 2017, 02:33 AM
Post #1


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



i'm creating a mod, and i want reused 3d model in game. I found the standardMesh file, unpack with RFA tool, it contains many model like AK-47. So i want to convert it to another format like 3ds, fbx, xtl, stl, chan,... or any software can open and edit this format. Thanks for watching and your help!!.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 14)
Dnamro
post Jul 13 2017, 03:57 PM
Post #2


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,863
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



There are no converters to go directly from the BF file formats to another format. What you have to do is to import using the plugins into a 3d modeling program that has supported plugins and then convert to a format that you need from there. There are plugins available that will work with verified versions up to 3ds Max 2013.

http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/for...showtopic=17749

Gmax has import/export plugins for BF42, but very limited conversion ability to other formats. There are some Gmax compatible maxscripts around for obj format. Be aware that when ever formats are imported/exported, there is a tendency to lose something in the process. The result may need to be fixed in the desired 3 modeling tool.


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 14 2017, 09:01 AM
Post #3


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



How can i import the sm, rs format into Blender? Is there plugin can do that? I want edit models in game like AK-47 to the Bazoka smile.gif))
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dnamro
post Jul 14 2017, 03:36 PM
Post #4


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,863
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



No, there are no conversion plugins for Blender. Is here is an explanation of the problems:

http://classic-battlefield-modding.wikia.c...deling_Plug-ins


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 15 2017, 02:23 AM
Post #5


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



QUOTE (Dnamro @ Jul 14 2017, 04:36 PM) *
No, there are no conversion plugins for Blender. Is here is an explanation of the problems:

http://classic-battlefield-modding.wikia.c...deling_Plug-ins

If not, how i can convert it? Can you give me a plugin for 3dsmax can import sm, rs format? Thanks very much.

This post has been edited by Tongkhangte: Jul 15 2017, 02:24 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 15 2017, 02:29 AM
Post #6


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



OK man, i found it!! Thanks for your help smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dnamro
post Jul 15 2017, 06:55 AM
Post #7


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,863
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



I try to keep this post updated with links to the current 3ds Max plugins:

http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/for...showtopic=17749


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 15 2017, 08:50 PM
Post #8


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



Are you there? I have an error with plugin for 3dsmax. When i import the model into software, i get an error: "Unable to convert: undenfined to type: string" There is the problem from plugin.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dnamro
post Jul 16 2017, 10:31 AM
Post #9


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,863
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



What version of 3ds Max are you using? You are using the BF42 plugins, not max's import?


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 16 2017, 07:13 PM
Post #10


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



QUOTE (Dnamro @ Jul 16 2017, 11:31 AM) *
What version of 3ds Max are you using? You are using the BF42 plugins, not max's import?

I using the Battlefield Tool plugin, and the version i use for 3dsmax is 2010. Oh, if maybe, could you show me how to use the Battlefield Mod Tool Kit? I was created a mod, but can't start the mod, they crash and hello desktop. Is missing something?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 16 2017, 09:02 PM
Post #11


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



I can import the 3d model of bfvn to 3dsmax, but can't export it. I tried press Add Lod but nothing happened, then i press the button export it said: "Error! No meshes set to import".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dnamro
post Jul 17 2017, 07:03 AM
Post #12


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,863
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



Well, I have not exported anything except for collision meshes, so I can't really be of much help with weapon exporting. But, from what I have read, the iimporter is not 100%. There are things that usually need to be fixed up. The hierarchy/schematic is one issue that I have to fix when I import an object before I can export it. This was very frustrating when I first started working with collision meshes. Like you, I thought that when I imported the model, that I should be able to turn around and export it, but it does not happen like that. DICE never wanted modders to be able to import and change their models to begin with. The original plugins were designed for modders to export their own models, with limited import capability. The modding community has expanded on the tools that DICE provided, but like I mentioned, they are not perfect. That was probably the hardest part of learning to model for Battlefield was to figure out that the Hierarchy/schematics has to be right and what right looks like. Weapons have the added complication of animations. I would learn to export simple objects first and then work on weapons.

There are some tutorials here to get your started:

http://www.moddb.com/games/battlefield-2/tutorials

Try looking for online tutorials on youtube.


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 17 2017, 08:06 PM
Post #13


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



Youtube have less of video for modding battfield vietnam, but have many for battlefield 2. But i will study by myself, thank you! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Tongkhangte: Jul 17 2017, 08:06 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dnamro
post Jul 18 2017, 07:28 PM
Post #14


CinC (for now)
Group Icon

Group: Mr. Admin
Posts: 6,863
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Fort Hood, TX
Member No.: 46



There are some BF42 modeling tuts here:

http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/dna...Guide/index.htm


--------------------
No, my Avatar is not my dog.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tongkhangte
post Jul 19 2017, 02:15 AM
Post #15


Captain
***

Group: Soldiers
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-July 16
Member No.: 11,657



QUOTE (Dnamro @ Jul 18 2017, 08:28 PM) *

Very usefull smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2017 - 04:43 PM